Skip To Main Content

Homework & Grades

Cambridge-Isanti Schools uses Standards-Based grading for Kindergarten through 5th grade.  

What does this mean? 
Standards specify the skills students should know and be able to do by the end of the school year.  

How is my Child Graded?

Your child will be graded based on the level at which they demonstrate proficiency of each standard per grading term.

What is the Benefit? This provides information about your child's individual strengths and progress towards mastering grade level learning goals. It also shows any areas where additional development and support may be needed to assist in reaching those goals. How

Does Standards Based Grading Work?

Students are graded on a 4-point grading scale based on the standards set for each grade level by the state of Minnesota. The level at which a student is meeting expectations is a 3. See the example below.


Sample Report Cards & Supporting Documents